Should be asleep…

Well I’m home from an evening shift and have a morning shift tomorrow so probably should be asleep since I have to be up in 5 hours.  I really hate doing “late earlies”.  Really do.  But I guess it’s all part of the job.

I was pleasantly surprised to realise tonight that I think I’m finally getting better at things at work.  Working on a surgical ward is so different from mental health and it has taken a little while to adjust, but I think I’ve finally settled in.  The sad thing is it’s not long before I move onto my next placement which isn’t a surgical ward so I’ll have to start over again!  But at least it’s a good learning experience I guess.

To be honest, I don’t have a lot to write tonight.  I’m just really proud of how far I’ve come in the last few months.  I’m finally comfortable at work.  I’m no longer scared of the job.  It feels really good, especially with how much I’ve been effected by anxiety this year.  It goes to show that even severe anxiety (anxiety so bad that suicide feels like a better option than facing it) can be overcome.  So, even though I don’t have much to say tonight, I want to leave people with that thought – no matter how anxious or scared of something you are, that anxiety and fear can be over come.  It may take time, it may take therapy and/or medications, but it can be over come.  Just don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

