How I feel about self harm

I came across an interesting post on another blog written by someone with bipolar about self harm.  The link is http://natashatracy.com/mental-illness-issues/self-harm/self-harm-heres-dont/ .

It sums up well how I feel when I’m depressed. I am not depressed all the time and I only struggle with thoughts of self harm when depressed.  But when I do struggle with the thoughts, it is overwhelming to deal with them.

In the last 8 years, I have only self harmed once, but at the end of last year/earlier this year during my severe antenatal/postnatal episode of depression, it was really hard not to give into it.

A lot of people don’t understand about self harm and I think this writer describes it well.

Leave a Reply

